Hello!
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
These reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks) provide background information.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowScholarly and up-to-date articles on the sciences and social sciences, illustrations and graphics, and bibliographies. Search either the Encyclopedia or the Science Dictionary for best results. Try the subject-specific study guides for background on a topic.
- Chemical Information for ChemistsGuide to searching and using chemical information, written for students, scientists, and information professionals.
- Craft of Scientific Presentations: Critical Steps to Succeed and Critical Errors to AvoidThis electronic book is a handy reference if you are not used to giving scientific presentations to an audience.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsWell-known ready-reference book of chemical and physical data.
- Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals"Definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It has been the leading source of information on chemical compounds for generations of scientists and professionals, selling over one million copies since its publication in 1889".
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Online This link opens in a new windowWritten by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances.
1001 Chemicals in Everyday Products by ISBN: 9780585230245Publication Date: 1999-01-01There is a virtual laboratory of chemicals in the food we eat and the products we encounter every dayat home, at school, and at work. What are these substances and how are they used? How are they helpful? Can they be harmful? Here are fast, hands-on answers to these and other crucial questions about hundreds of chemical substances we come into contact with on a regular basis. From MSG in food to perchloroethylene in dry cleaning, this AZ guide provides clear, no-nonsense information on the use and health effects of hundreds of chemicals found in food, medicines, cosmetics, cleaning solutions, lawn and garden products, and more. Well-organized and easy-to-use, it gives you the help you need to make smarter choices about the products you choosefor yourself and your family. Inside 1,001 Chemicals in Everyday Products you'll find: -Entries listing products, uses, precautions, and synonyms -Direct answers to over 250 frequently asked questions on everyday chemicals -Handy product and chemical synonym indexes -A nationwide listing of Poison Control Centers
