Skip to main content

FYSM-144 Food, Science, and Culture (Guardiola-Diaz): Managing Your Bibliography

FYSM-144

Subject Guide

Jennifer van Sickle's picture
Jennifer van Sickle
Contact:
Office: A39

Phone x2250
860-297-2250

Citation Help

For courses in the sciences, one commonly used style is Scientific Style and Format, 8th edition

You can consult print copies of many style manuals while in the library. We keep them on reserve and/or in the reference collection on Level A.

You can also use Cite Source, which shows you how to cite a variety of sources, from Web sites to books in print.

The library has an online guide for help with citation management tools RefWorks (licensed for Trinity College) and Zotero (freely available to all). 

 

Disclaimer: always check with your professors about which styles they might require for their courses.

 

 

Bibliography Help!

Quick examples for your bibliography or list of works cited in APA, MLA, Chicago, APSA, ASA or ACS.

RefWorks

You can send citations directly from most databases to RefWorks. It's a bibliography maker, AND it works with our databases.

Here's how!

First, set up an account with your own username and password. Then, once you've found the citations you want, you can export the citations from the database to RefWorks.

To generate a bibliography or list of works cited for your paper, click on Create Bibliography, and select an output format (Word document).

Refworks has quick tutorials you can follow, or you can ask me to help you with specifics!