LibGuides: FYSM 164: The Inhospitable: Poetics of the Desert (Hubert): Primary Sources

Newspapers & Magazines

New York Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Offers full-page and article images of every page, covering 1851-4 years ago. Content is added every year.
African American Periodicals 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1836-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st.
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover archive beginning with the first issue in 1936.

Archival Sources

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Presents topically-focused, primary resource digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Covers Middle Ages-20th century.

The Watkinson
The Watkinson Library serves as a public research library, the rare book and special collections of the Trinity College Library, and the repository of the Trinity College archives.

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of over 60,000 free e-books. Includes many ancient books, primarily translated into English.

.

Internet Archive
In addition to archiving websites, the Internet Archive also boasts a huge collection of freely accessible texts, images, audio files, and films. The "Feature Films" collection is particularly fantastic if you're looking for old movies that are out of copyright.

Documentaries

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Web-based digital video delivery platform that allows viewing of thousands of streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime. Available for in-class use and remote viewing.

Notes: Works best with Firefox or Internet Explorer. Use the 'email this video' feature to send a film link, not the browser link.

Searching Tips: Register on campus in order to take advantage of all features. Once registered, you may log in from anywhere.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Educational and feature films from major producers including California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, Green Planet Films, Kino Lorber, and others. For academic use only.

Films may need to be ordered in advance before viewing. See https://commons.trincoll.edu/library/2019/08/12/changes-to-kanopy-film-streaming-library/ for more details.

Up Your Google Game

If you include site:.edu in your search terms, you'll only get results from educational sites (schools, colleges, universities, etc.). This can be a great way to filter out lower-quality content without limiting yourself to the scholarly articles and books in Google Scholar.