Bibliography Help!
Quick examples for your bibliography or list of works cited in APA, MLA, and Chicago.
Zotero
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a powerful, easy-to-use research tool that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources and then share the results of your research. It collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and really anything else. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for with just a few keystrokes.
- Zotero Quick Start Guide: The A, B, C's of "Z"
- Download Zotero
What are Primary Sources?
•Original evidence produced and created by participants in a specific event or time period, witnesses to an event or period in history or their own personal lives in the distant or recent past
•Some examples of primary sources include: photographs, material objects, advertisements, film and audio recordings, news and newspaper articles, letters, memoirs, and other literary works
•You can discover many primary sources by using secondary sources which analyze and interpret your primary source evidence
Important tip 1: Many times indigenous voices are underrepresented and missing from primary source records. In contexts where colonialism and imperialism are present, the dominant voice of the colonial/imperial power will construct the narrative. Dig deeper to discover the primary sources of indigenous peoples which have survived
Important tip 2: Take note of changes in language over time, in word usage and in spelling when searching for information in primary source databases and archives. Words may be misspelled within documents
Places to find Primary Sources
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new windowAccess millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAn archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture. Titles include: Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping and Woman's Day.
- EBSCO Magazine Archives This link opens in a new windowDigital magazine archives of select popular magazines, including covers and advertisements. Titles include: The Atlantic, Fortune, Life, New Republic, National Review, Nation, People, Sports Illustrated, and Time.
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (featuring Newsweek) This link opens in a new windowAn archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Coverage from 1918-2015 (varies by title).
- NYPL Digital CollectionsContains prints, photographs, streaming video, manuscript content from the collections of the New York Public Library
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new windowArchives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the college and university level. A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowNearly 500,000 art images of art, architecture and other forms of visual and material culture. Represents all time periods and cultures. Includes online and offline tools for faculty and students. Note: Artstor is now part of JSTOR. The Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024.