General Order #3
|
This order, issued on June 19, 1865, represents the Federal Government’s final execution and fulfillment of the terms of the Emancipation Proclamation of 1863. The people to whom this order was addressed were the last group of Americans to be informed that all formerly enslaved persons were now free. The effects of this order would later be celebrated as the Juneteenth holiday.(National Archives).
|
The Primus Project
About the Project
The Primus Project aspires to tell a truer and fuller story of Trinity’s history than most people know. The project explores the ways Trinity College—the institution and individuals associated with it—engaged with systems of slavery and white supremacy. It is a research-driven, community-based initiative to better understand the college’s past and forge a more just and inclusive present. By conducting archival research, making primary materials available online, and ultimately producing a report of our findings, we aim to uncover a hidden past and engage the broader community in a deeper understanding of our history.
Other Primary Sources
The term Juneteenth wasn’t widely used until the 1890s (Wikipedia). Jubilee Day seemed to be the most commonly used term in early Texas celebrations. When searching in these newspapers, try using terms such as "Juneteenth," “freedmen,” “Galveston,” and "emancipation”
-
Jet Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Covers art, fashion, culture, entertainment, and news, focused on the African-American community. The archives contains over 3,100 issues, published between 1951 and 2014.
-
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window A genealogy research tool that provides instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.
-
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Archive of the New York Times. Also contains New York Times Index and New York Times Sunday Magazine. Coverage: 1851-2021.
-
New York Times (website site license) This link opens in a new window Trinity College's site license to the New York Times (nytimes.com).
-
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Archive of the Washington Post. Coverage: 1877-2008.
-
Washington Post (site license) This link opens in a new window Site license to the Washington Post website for current staff, faculty, and students. Select SSO from the sign in option list and sign in with your Trinity credentials. Site license provides the latest 5 years of content. Accessible to guests while visiting the library in person. NOTE: Vendor reports known intermittent problems with EZ Proxy.
-
Hartford Courant Historical (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Archive of the Hartford Courant. Coverage: 1764-1999.
-
Hartford Courant (Access World News) This link opens in a new window Search the print and web editions of the Hartford Courant, the principal newspaper for the state of Connecticut covering local, regional and national news. This version does not include advertising or graphics. Coverage: 1991 - present.
