Newspapers and News Sources
Search for your person or any organizations, groups or historical events that they might have been associated with during their lifetime.
-
Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowA full-text news resource consisting of local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
-
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowArchive of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-2015.
-
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages from around the United States from 1770-1963. It is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program in partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
-
Detroit Free Press (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowArchive of the Detroit Free Press. Coverage: 1831-1999.
-
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowArchive of the Los Angeles Times. Coverage: 1881-2016.
-
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowArchive of the New York Times. Also contains New York Times Index and New York Times Sunday Magazine. Coverage: 1851-2021.
-
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Archive of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Coverage: 1923-2003.
-
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowArchive of the Washington Post. Coverage: 1877-2008.
More Primary Sources
-
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
A genealogy research tool that provides instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.
-
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Internet Archive is a non-profit, digital library providing access to millions of free texts, images, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Click “View More” for links to specific, recommended tools and collections.