LibGuides: HIST-300: History Workshop: Travel Writing (Elukin): Magazines & Periodicals

Magazines & Periodicals

Magazines and Periodicals are primary sources that illuminate the culture, history and society of a specific time period, place, or people
They are an invaluable snapshot into aspects of life that are not covered in other primary sources like newspapers
Explore magazines and periodicals to delve into many diverse aspects of United States and International culture, history and society

African American Periodicals: Voices of Black Society and Culture, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
EBSCO Magazine Archives This link opens in a new window
Digital magazine archives of select popular magazines, including covers and advertisements. Titles include: The Atlantic, Fortune, Life, New Republic, National Review, Nation, People, Sports Illustrated, and Time.
Jet Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers art, news, politics and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes over 3,100 issues providing a broad view of culture, fashion and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014. Note: archive is not complete.
Independent Voices (Reveal Digital on JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture. Titles include: Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping and Woman's Day.