LibGuides: EDUC-300: Education Reform, Past and Present (Lockhart): Primary sources

Primary sources in education reform

Below are some additional places to discover primary sources in education reform.

Best tip is use secondary sources to identify specific policies, with a focus on policy/legislation name, timeframe, location and persons/groups involved in the creation and implementation of those policies/legislation.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Includes full runs of covered journals. NOTE: Internet Explorer is no longer supported by JSTOR. See 'More Info' re: browser troubleshooting.
Chrome may not work well with JSTOR. Be sure to use the latest version, and clearing cache/cookies 'for all time' may solve the problem.

Internet Archive
Contains digital copies of diaries, letters and documents. Each document can be individually searched.
United States Code Section 20 (20 U.S.C.)
From the United States House of Representatives Office of the Law Revision Counsel, 20 U.S.C. is a compilation of the federal public laws focused on education.
Title 10: Connecticut General Statues
Title 10 covers education laws in Connecticut. Other states can also be searched for the same material, but it might be by different names in each state.

Primary Sources in the Trinity Digital Repository

Search these sites within the Trinity College Digital Repository (from the Trinity College Archives) for primary sources from Trinity.

**Research tip: Use the Advanced Search function within digital collections for searching multiple keywords and search terms, as well as setting date ranges.**

Trinity College Digital Repository
This will take you to the main landing page for the Digital Repository. You can search across the entire repository
Trinity Tripod in the Digital Repository
Search the Tripod for articles from 1904-current
Trinity Reporter and Alumni Magazine
Trinity College has published an alumni news magazine, which took various forms, since 1939. In 1970, the publication was officially changed to the Trinity Reporter. Within are news stories about happenings and change at the College, alumni profiles and interviews and images
The Ivy, Trinity's Yearbook
Search volumes of the Ivy, from 1873-present
Trinity College Handbooks
The Trinity handbook contains orientation information to ease the transition to college life: clubs & organizations, college rules & regs, residential services, off-campus merchants, etc. This collection is selection of handbooks issued between 1916 to 1994