About
Raphael Tuck & Sons' Post Card Series No. 1077, "Hartford, Conn. Trinity College." Germany, ca. 1890-1914.
Find Images Fast:
- JSTOR (includes ArtStor Digital Library)Search for ArtStor and Trinity images now alongside JSTOR books and articles!
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
- Flickr CommonsPublic photography archives; rights and download options vary by creator.
- Wikimedia CommonsRepository of free-use images, sound, and other media files.
Are you hoping to use images from a recent exhibit, or having trouble finding something in our databases?
Contact Amanda Matava to help you locate images.
We can also add them to our JSTOR Institutional Teaching Collection for you to use in your courses.
Cite Source
- Cite Source
Everything you need to know about creating citations, with information on style guides, copyright, citation management tool Zotero, and more.
Reminder
Before using any images please check the copyright statement for each database or site. Generally, most allow the use of their material for educational, noncommercial or personal use as long as the source is acknowledged. ArtStor, for example, allows use of its images for educational purposes such as in papers and presentations, and on password-protected course Moodle sites, but prohibits use in publicly-accessible webpages and commercial publications.
Don't forget to cite the source of any images you use in papers or presentations, just as you would cite other resources!
Publication
Certain images in ARTstor provided by the Metropolitan Museum of Art and other institutions are publication-quality images and are available free-of-charge for use in scholarly publications. These images will display an "IAP" icon beneath the thumbnail. Clicking on the icon will lead a user through steps for downloading the publication-quality image, including agreeing to a terms and conditions statement.
PowerPoint is the most commonly used presentation software and is available on all Trinity College lab & classroom computers.
It should be noted that users can choose to download ArtStor image groups as PowerPoint presentations, with a slide automatically created for each image in the group, and a title slide created using the name of the group.
A jpg image file of 1024 x 768 pixels, at 72ppi resolution, is commonly recommended for use in PowerPoint presentations. This is the output resolution of many projectors.
Inserting an image into a PowerPoint slide:
1 First open your presentation and select the desired slide.
2 Click on the "Insert" menu
3 Select "Picture", "From File..."
4 Navigate to where your image is located, and click on the filename.
5 Click "Insert"
6 PowerPoint will insert the image in the middle of your PowerPoint slide. If the image is too big and fills the screen, click on the page zoom button & choose a small number, enabling you to zoom out to see the entire image.
7 To scale the image without distorting it, click and hold with the left mouse button on any one of the corner "handles" & drag the handle to re-size the image smaller or bigger.
Trinity, Hartford & Connecticut Resources
Connecticut Digital Archive
The CTDA is part of the Digital Preservation Repository Program at the University of Connecticut. It serves the entire state and is dedicated to the maintenance, delivery, and preservation of a wide range of digital resources for educational and cultural institutions and State Agencies in Connecticut.
The CTDA includes collections from:
- Trinity College
- The Connecticut State Library
- The Connecticut Historical Society
- The Hartford Public Library's Hartford History Center
- Many other public libraries and cultural heritage institutions across CT!
JSTOR Images (includes ArtStor)
Nearly 2 million images of art, architecture, science and technology, and other forms of visual and material culture. Represents all time periods and cultures. If you were an ArtStor user, login with your ArtStor credentials to access your saved content and groups. New users can create a free account.
To find this page directly from the JSTOR homepage, go to BROWSE --> Images.
Trinity College Digital Collections
Browse print and image materials digitized from Trinity's archives and special collections, as well as licensed collections for teaching and scholarship. View, Compare, and Zoom in JSTOR's IIIF viewer, and sort and organize into folders and groups.
To find this page from the JSTOR homepage, go to BROWSE --> Your Institution's Collections.
Digital Public Library of America
Discover 45,307,531 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
A single point of access. A gateway to the cultural and intellectual riches stewarded by libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Open to all, and only possible in the Digital Era. This was the founding vision of the Digital Public Library of America, first imagined in 2010 as an open, distributed national digital library to harness the power of collaboration to inform and empower everyone.
Arts & Humanities
Arts & Humanities
VADS
VADS provides a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education. The images cover the broad range of the visual arts including applied arts, architecture, design, fashion, fine art, and media. VADS is a service of the Library at the University for the Creative Arts (UCA).
Asian Art & Architecture
JSTOR (formerly ArtStor)
Nearly 2 million images of art, architecture and other forms of visual and material culture. Represents all time periods and cultures. Includes online and offline tools for faculty and students.
Image: Gia Long Tomb, front facade roof details, photographed by Barbara J. Anello-Adnani, 2008.
East Asian Art Museum of San Francisco
Located in the heart of San Francisco, the museum is home to one of the world’s finest collections of Asian art, boasting more than 18,000 awe-inspiring artworks ranging from ancient jades and ceramics to contemporary video installations.
Image: Goryeo dynasty Ewer with Lid, Korean, ca. 1150-1200.
Philip Kappel Collection of Japanese Woodblock Prints
The Philip Kappel Collection of Japanese woodblock prints represents a selection of the foremost Ukiyo-e artists of the 18th and early 19th centuries.
Image: Harunobu, Suzuki (Japanese, 1725 - 1770), “Moonrise - Mother and Son,” Trinity College Library.
British Museum
Explore two million years of human history in art and objects from the first national public museum of the world. The British Museum was founded in 1753 and opened its doors in 1759. It was the first national museum to cover all fields of human knowledge, open to visitors from across the world.
Image: Basket made of bark. Woven. Made by Ainu. Japan, created during the 1910 joint Japanese-British exhibition held at White City.
Cleveland Museum of Art
Image: Lobed Mirror with Heaven and Earth between the Paired Phoenixes. Chinese Tang Dynasty, Bronze. Ca. 750-799.
e-Museum
National Treasures and Important Cultural Properties of National Institutes for Cultural Heritage, Japan.
Image: Kongo Rikishi (Guardian) Statue. Nara period, or Tang Dynasty, China. Ca. 8th Century. Color on hollow dry lacquer.
Japanese Garden (Bowdoin College)
The web site is dedicated to the gardens of Japan, and primarily to the historic gardens of Kyoto and its environs, including Nara.
Image: Chishaku-in, demonstrating the element of paths in Japanese gardens.
Kimball Art Museum, Fort Worth
Image: Horse and Rider, 2nd-1st century B.C. Chinese. Western Han Dynasty. Earthenware with painted polychrome decoration.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Image: Plum Blossom, Korea, Joseon dynasty (1392-1910), 18th century. Pair of panels, stained and scorched on paper
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Explore millions of objects, including 375,000 high-res, public domain images.
Image: Calligraphic galleon, dated A.H. 1180 / A.D. 1766-67 by 'Abd al-Qadir Hisari, Turkish, ink and gold on paper.
Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City
Image: Bird. Chinese, Neolithic Period (7000-2000 BCE). Green nephrite (jade).
Palace Museum, Taipei
Image: Yue Battle Ax with animal mask pattern and turquoise inlay. Late Shang dynasty (12-12th century B.C.)
General Arts & Humanities Image Resources
- Ad*Access (Duke Univ.)7,000 U.S. & Canadian printed ads from 1911-1955.
- ArchnetScholarly resources for study of material and visual culture in Islamic societies. Thousands of sites, publications, images and more focusing on architecture, urbanism, landscape design, visual culture related to the Muslim world.
- British Museum CollectionOver 2 million objects
- Connecticut Digital Archive15,000+ primary sources, collaboration of CT libraries & museums focusing on historical artifacts including photographs, maps, broadsides, oral histories & manuscripts. Documents events, people & places playing a role in CT & American social, business, political, educational, cultural & civic life.
- David Rumsey Historical Map CollectionHistorical maps of the world, including atlases, globes, maritime charts, local maps, children's and manuscript maps.
- EuropeanaEurope's cultural collections
- Getty Institute and Museum ImagesGetty gateway for browsing and searching collections. Use link at lower right to access "Open Content Images." This is a new Getty initiative that allows downloading of high resolution images in jpg file format.
- Library of Congress American Memory ProjectGateway to 9 million items organized into 100 thematic collections from Library of Congress resources documenting U.S. history & culture. Formats include manuscripts, prints, photos, posters, maps, sound recordings, film, books, pamphlets, sheet music.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs1 million images from extensive Library of Congress print & photograph collections documenting U.S. history and culture. Examples: Farm Security Administration photos, WPA prints, Civil War glass negatives, cartoons, Ansel Adams photos of Japanese-American internment, baseball cards, much more.
- Life Photo ArchiveMillions of Life magazine images hosted by Google, from 1700's-present. Images not larger than 600 pixels on longest side.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art, CollectionsMuseum collections, plus Timeline of Art History containing useful art historical information.
- National Gallery of Art ImagesIncludes 20,000+ open access digital images up to 3000 pixels for free download & use.
- National Portrait Gallery (Britain)11,000 portrait paintings, sculptures & drawings, plus 220,000 original photographs.
- New York Public Library Digital GalleryFree & open access to 800,000+ images digitized from NYPB collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs & more.
- Smithsonian Online CollectionsLinks to online collections of all Smithsonian museums including Natural History Museum, American History Museum, National Museum of the American Indian, African Art Museum, American Art Museum, Cooper-Hewitt, Freer & Sackler Gallery, Hirshhorn, National Portrait Gallery.
- WorldImagesInternationally recognized, provides access to California State Univ. IMAGE Project. Included by Library of Congress in its historic collection of Internet materials. 100,000 images with embedded metadata in 900 portfolios, coverage global, all areas of visual imagery. QuickSearch, Advanced, or Browse.
Sciences
Forestry Images
Explore photos of plant species, diseases, and pests relating to forestry.
Image: Organ Pipe Cactus, James Henderson, Golden Delight Honey, Bugwood.org
HubbleSite Gallery
Explore images, audio and video from NASA's Hubble Telescope, downloadable in various sizes and with robust metadata.
Image: Hickson Compact Group 40, April 19, 2022. SCIENCE: NASA, ESA, STScI. IMAGE PROCESSING: Alyssa Pagan (STScI)
U.S. Government Science Resources (images and video) compiled by Library of Congress
Image databases from five federal agencies. Image subjects include agriculture, astronomy and aeronautics, biology, conservation, earth sciences (including meteorology), energy, engineering, medicine/health sciences, and miscellaneous.
Image: Tornado with dust and debris cloud forming at surface. During Sound Chase, a joint project of NSSL and Mississippi State University. Cordell, Oklahoma, 22-May1981.
Cornell Lab of Ornithology
Explore photo galleries, audio and video of bird species. Select multiple bird species' photos to compare!
Image: Northern Pygmy-Owl. By Eric Heisey. Macaulay Library, Washington, Jan. 28, 2017.
Audubon's Birds of America
Browse high-res images of the Watkinson Library's staple feature: a complete double elephant folio set of Audubon’s Birds of America, accompanied by his Ornithological Biography.
Image: Great-Footed Hawk. Plate XVI (16). Peregrine Falcon. By John James Audubon, 1827-1830, London.
National Institutes of Health
Photo galleries including 27 institutes and centers that compromise the NIH, Presidential visits to the NIH, historical photos of scientists, and campus photos of the main NIH buildings in Bethesda, Maryland.
Image: In 1954, NIH researchers were studying weight and blood changes in rats with folic acid deficiency. Credit: National Institutes of Health
History of Medicine (National Library of Medicine)
Access over 70,000 images in NLM collections from the 15th to the 21st century.
Image: U.S. War of 1898 - Medical and Sanitary Affairs: Camp Lazear Yellow Fever buildings, Havana, Cuba.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL); Centers for Disease Control
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures for the public to use for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. Due to the historic nature of the images, they should not to be viewed as a source of the most current public health information.
Image: This photomicrograph depicts numerous yellow fever virions, under a magnification of 234,000X. CDC/Erskine Palmer, ph.D., 1980.