Hello!
Tips for academic research in journal articles, book chapters and books.
Use the databases below with you keywords to locate sources for your annotated bibliography.
Here is a quick review of secondary academic/peer-reviewed sources:
- Typically are journal articles, books and book chapters published by specific journals and university presses.
- Primarily created by academics for other academics.
- Usually written by experts or researchers in a particular field of study.
- Are analytical interpretations of evidence consulted or gathered by the author(s).
- Contain a thesis statement or argument, evidence to support and/or refute that argument, analysis, conclusion, recommendations, notes and references.
- Undergo a review and editorial process before publication.
- Language can be very technical as the author assumes the reader is familiar with the vocabulary and concepts.
- Due to review and editorial process they will not be available for very recent or ongoing events.
Best library databases for your annotated bibliography research
Research librarian tip: Use the filters within the databases if you want to limit your results to only peer-reviewed or academic articles, books and material published within a set timeframe such as the past 10 years (2015-2025).
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Search Trinity's catalog and beyond for books, journal articles, streaming video, news articles, primary sources and more. Log in with your Trinity library account to see full results and request materials.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Also includes eBooks and book chapters.
-
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,000 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
-
Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 1,400 online journals from ca. 1997 - present.
-
Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
Three databases combined in one collection: Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and GenderWatch. Alt-PressWatch includes full-text newspapers and magazines from alternative, independent presses. Ethnic NewsWatch contains full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press and also Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, covering Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. GenderWatch publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports focused on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.