It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ANTH-245 Anthropology & Global Health (Trostle): Research Tips
When selecting a topic it is useful to first conduct broad research to become familiar with relevant concepts. Review essays and encyclopedia articles are particularly helpful in this step of the research process.
"Includes definitions and explanations of key concepts; recent developments; introductions to sociological theories and research; cross-referenced and searchable; timeline; lexicon by subject area; extensive bibliographies; table of contents; citations are provided."-site.
"Focuses on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology."- book
Once you choose a topic you can focus your research by looking at sources with a scope matching that of your chosen topic to streamline your information seeking proccess.
Both a general medical journal and a family of journals relating to specific topics including Diabetes & Endocrinology, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Global Health, Haematology, HIV, Infectious Diseases, Neurology, Oncology, Planetary Health, Psychiatry, Public Health, and Respiratory Medicine.
Publishes articles related to biological, environmental, social, and political determinants of health as well as translational medicine that provides new insights into disease processes, with implications for clinical care.
"Provides an international and interdisciplinary forum for the dissemination of social science research on health."-site. Includes parts relating to Medical Psychology, Medical Sociology, Medical Anthropology, Medical Economics, Medical Geography, Medical Psychology, and Medical and Social Ethics.
Journals produced by the World Health Organization, including the African Health Monitor, Eastern Mediterranean Health Journal, Pan American Journal of Public Health, Public Health Panorama, Weekly Epidemiological Record, Western Pacific Surveillance and Response, WHO Drug Information, and WHO South-East Asia Journal of Public Health.
Make the Most of your Research
One of the best ways to increase the effectiveness and efficiency of your information search is to make use of controlled vocabularies.
A controlled vocabulary is a standardized set of words and phrases used to index content. By using a term from a controlled vocabulary in your search, provided that the content is indexed using that controlled vocabulary, you can gather a much more focused and comprehensive set of results than would be possible using a generic keyword search.
If you find a useful article it may be helpful to look up the Medline formatted reference, found in PubMed, and see what useful index terms or keywords have been assigned to the article. You can then use these to search for other similar articles.
A controlled vocabulary maintained by the Library of Congress. Covers a broad range of topics including those related to global health, medicine, sociology, and anthropology. May be most useful when searching in databases not specific to medical fields.