LibGuides: RHET-103 College Writing: Books, Journal Databases, and News

Finding books in the Trinity Library

Trinity Library OneSearch
Search for items in the Library and beyond.

The Library has print books which are located on shelves throughout the building. A call number for the book will indicate where it is located. Books are grouped together by specific subjects. Use this directory to locate print books by call number. Electronic books, or eBooks, are accessed by clicking on the full text links in the Library OneSearch record.

Top Journal Databases

Library journal databases and resources can be reached through our Library Databases A-Z page. These databases cover all disciplines at Trinity College and contain a wide range of sources for all types of research.

Here are some good journal article databases to try:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
From ResearchIT CT
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Includes full runs of covered journals. NOTE: Internet Explorer is no longer supported by JSTOR. See 'More Info' re: browser troubleshooting.
Chrome may not work well with JSTOR. Be sure to use the latest version, and clearing cache/cookies 'for all time' may solve the problem.
Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 1,400 online journals from ca. 1997 - present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's search engine for scholarly material.

When on campus articles available through Trinity Library resources are indicated by an Online- Trinity College link to the right of the article title. To view these indications when off campus open Google Scholar Settings and in the Library Links page search for Trinity College. Select Trinity College – Online- Trinity College and save your selection.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports published worldwide in the field of psychology. Also covers the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1887 - present
PubMed This link opens in a new window
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
From ResearchIT CT

Best News and Data Sources

You can also access news and data and statistical sources from our Library Databases A-Z page.

Here are some top sources to search:

ProQuest News and Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Includes the current content of the Chicago Tribune, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
From ResearchIT CT
Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
A full-text news resource consisting of local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily, it offers primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
Nexis UNI This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Personalization features include Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Archive of the New York Times from 1851-2020. Contains New York Times Index and New York Times Sunday Magazine.
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Archive of the Washington Post from 1877-2008.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
An online resource for demographic data on the United States. Information can be generated in either reports or maps. Coverage begins with the 1790 Census and continues through the recent American Community Surveys. Create an individual account (required) in order to use all the database features.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Repository of standardized and structured statistical data from Sage. Trinity subscribes to the Basic module, EASI Market Planner, and the China Data Center (Subnational Data).