Skip to Main Content

Library Research Guides

Trinity College
Library & Information Technology Services

Classical Studies

Primary Sources Available online

Project Gutenberg
Contains the full text of over 70,000 free e-books. Focus is on older works in which United States copyright protection has expired.

Google Books
Books copyrighted prior to 1922 will be full text. This includes documents, hearings, reports etc. that are in the college and university collections that Google scanned.

Loeb Classical Library
Digital version of the Loeb Classical Library of Greek and Latin literature, founded by James Loeb in 1911. Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations.
Perseus Digital Library
Includes both primary and critical texts, site plans, digital images, and maps related to ancient Greece and Rome. Maintained by the Department of Classics at Tufts University.

Logeion
From the University of Chicago, Logeion (literally, a place for words; in particular, a speaker's platform, or an archive) was developed to provide simultaneous lookup of entries in the many reference works that make up the Perseus Classical collection.

Nestor: Bibliography of Aegean Prehistory and Related Areas
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. It is published monthly from September to May (each volume covers one calendar year) by the Department of Classics, University of Cincinnati.

Many of the works by classical authors (with different translations and editions) are freely available online. Other websites have maps, images and a range of useful information for your research.