LibGuides: Biology: Articles and More

Best Bets--Article Databases

Search these databases for scholarly publications in biology.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
From ResearchIT CT
PubMed This link opens in a new window
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation search platform for Web of Science (Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index). Coverage: 1900-present (Sciences and Social Sciences), 1975-present (Arts & Humanities)

Try these for more specialized topics.

American Society for Microbiology Journals This link opens in a new window
From the American Society for Microbiology (ASM) this site provides access to ASM journals, which are the most prominent publications in the field, delivering up-to-date and authoritative coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in more than 45 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature, identifying the principal contributions in a given field.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Includes full runs of covered journals. NOTE: Internet Explorer is no longer supported by JSTOR. See 'More Info' re: browser troubleshooting.
Chrome may not work well with JSTOR. Be sure to use the latest version, and clearing cache/cookies 'for all time' may solve the problem.
JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window
Growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type specimens and related materials from community contributors around the world.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to this premiere research journal from 1869 to present.

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS)
One of the top multi-disciplinary science journals. Available online via the website as well as JSTOR (older content).

Science This link opens in a new window
Full-text edition of this premier research journal. 1997 - present. Full-text articles from 1880-1996 are available in JSTOR. This site also includes access to the online journals Science Translational Medicine, Science Signaling, Science Immunology, Science Robotics and the open access journal Science Advances.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 3,500 journals, mostly in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and social sciences.
Scientific American (current + archive) This link opens in a new window
Complete archive. Articles and features include all text and graphics in high-quality HTML or PDF files. Covers 1845-present.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
The Library subscribes to a current collection of Springer e-journals. We also own the Springer journal archive, Springer e-books current + archive (English), and Palgrave e-books current + archive. For e-books, you may purchase your own softcover version for $39.99 via the 'MyCopy' link on the book landing page.