Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art & Architecture: Start Here

Guide to art and architecture resources

Start Here

Best Bets--Encyclopedias

Online encyclopedias provide a good starting point and overview for your research in art and architecture.

More....

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Amanda Matava
she/her
Contact:
LITC A73
860-297-4084

Finding Books

Searching for E-Books

To find books you can access online, choose Advanced Search to the right of the main OneSearch box. This will allow you to enter your search terms and to select "E-books" from the list of material types. All of the titles in your results list will be accessible online. In the Results list, Click on an E-book title to go to the full record, and then use the links provided to access the E-book.  

OneSearch lets users save their searches by clicking on "Save query" next to the pushpin symbol above the results list. Or you can save individual titles by clicking on the same pushpin symbol to the right of a title. To access your saved searches and titles, log in, then go to the top of the library page and click on the pushpin symbol to the left of your name.  You'll see "My Favorites," with choice to view "Saved records, searches or history."

What is CTW?

The acronym CTW stands for the Connecticut College, Trinity College, and Wesleyan University consortium of libraries.  As a student at Trinity College, you have the same borrowing privileges at Conn and Wesleyan as you have here at Trinity. If you find an item in our OneSearch catalog which is owned by Connecticut College or Wesleyan, you can use the request function in the catalog record for it to be delivered to Trinity College library.  You will receive an email from the library when the item has arrived and is ready to be picked up. Pre-pandemic the turnaround time was only 2 or 3 days, although it might take a bit longer now.

Article Databases

Best Bets--Article Databases

Search these online databases for scholarly articles on art and architecture:

More Useful Databases

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Amanda Matava
she/her
Contact:
LITC A73
860-297-4084

Citation Tools

Copyright

Reminder:  Always remember to cite your sources.  Our online library guide, CiteSource, lets you select a writing/citation style, such as Chicago or MLA, and provides examples of in-text citations and bibliography entries.  For more complex citations, you can also refer to the complete print versions held in the Reference book area, on a shelf just behind the slatted-wood wall.  

Also don't forget to cite the source of any images you use in papers or presentations, just as you would cite other resources.

Citation Help

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Amanda Matava
she/her
Contact:
LITC A73
860-297-4084

Primary Sources

Best Bets--Primary Sources

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Amanda Matava
she/her
Contact:
LITC A73
860-297-4084

Scholarly & Art News on the Web

Scholarly Web Sites

These web sites are freely available and useful for research.

Art News Web Sites & News Databases

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Amanda Matava
she/her
Contact:
LITC A73
860-297-4084

Link to Image Research Guide

Art Conservation

Conservation Web Sites

Conservation-related online resources:

Trinity Library Resources

Trinity Library has a selection of books on art conservation, including conservation of contemporary art.  These can all be found in the library book catalog by entering search term "art conservation" and selecting "subject browse."  This produces a list of subject terms related to the topic, including "Art -- Conservation and restoration" with 18 titles, and "Art Conservation and restoration Periodicals" also with 18 titles.  Simply click on a topic of your choosing to go to a list of the titles we own in print and electronic formats.  

Also, art exhibition catalogs and other books about artists often include sections on conservation of their works.  Wadsworth Atheneum, for example, has published exhibition catalogs with discussion of artist techniques and conservation of certain works.  Among them are catalogs authored by Ulrich Birkmaier or Stephen Kornhauser, conservators at the Atheneum who have contributed essays on conservation, such as to the exhibition catalog for a Marsden Harley exhibition at the Atheneum.

 

Two conservation journals found in our catalog have been newly added to JSTOR in electronic format:

Journal of Field Archaeology (1974-2007, Vols. 1-32, new content up to 5 years ago will be added each year)

Studies in Conservation (1952-2007, Vols. 1-52, new content up to 5 years ago will be added each year)

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Amanda Matava
she/her
Contact:
LITC A73
860-297-4084