Cite Source
Trinity Cite Source
While the research paper you write is your own original work, you need to credit the researchers and information that you used to create it. Otherwise you can be found guilty of plagiarism or academic dishonesty.
Utilize Trinity's Cite Source for all your citation and bibliographic needs.
Purdue Owl
Purdue Owl is an excellent resource that details citations for all styles. There is even a Research and Citation resource guide that explains different forms of research, such as archival or how to write a literature review.
Should I Use a Citation Machine?
Citation machines generate citations automatically -- many databases, including JSTOR, now have a quick link to cite a resource for you in the style you choose.
However, it is still your responsibility to ensure citations are formatted correctly and include the right information.
Likely, citation machines were installed in databases to make the option visible and easy -- to "nudge" the user into citing their sources. With that in mind, a citation machine may not be the best option. You also want to avoid the "automation paradox" -- a loss of knowledge or skill due to automating too many tasks.
Do I have to Cite my Sources?
What style should I use?
The answer will fall under your professor's purview. Be sure to ask if you don't know.
However, Art and Architecture disciplines typically use Chicago style.
What is the difference between Chicago and MLA?
While both styles are used in the humanities, the biggest difference is that Chicago uses footnotes for in-text citations while MLA uses simple parenthetical citations. There are also some differences as to how the references / bibliography page is formatted.
How do I format my citations and footnotes?
You will want to use one of the style guides listed in the above slideshow. Purdue Owl is the best resource. Use "miscellaneous resources" to find information on citing visual works.
What is an annotated bibliography?
A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" or "Works Cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).
An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.
- Summarize: Some annotations merely summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say? The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is.
For more help, see our handout on paraphrasing sources.
- Assess: After summarizing a source, it may be helpful to evaluate it. Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source?
For more help, see our handouts on evaluating resources.
- Reflect: Once you've summarized and assessed a source, you need to ask how it fits into your research. Was this source helpful to you? How does it help you shape your argument? How can you use this source in your research project? Has it changed how you think about your topic?
Your annotated bibliography may include some of these, all of these, or even others. If you're doing this for a class, you should get specific guidelines from your instructor.