Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Data Sources
America's Health Rankings
Produced by the United Health Foundation, "America's Health Rankings presents a yearly 'top ten' list of healthiest, and least healthiest, states based on health status indicators, such as: access to primary care, high school degree attainment, smoking, activity level, etc.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
Coordinated by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the BRFSS is a state-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury. World’s largest telephone survey; it tracks health risks of adults in the US.
Health, United States
Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chartbook, trend tables, extensive appendixes, and an index. Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics.
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Contains many links to statistical data that represents benchmarks.
Use the interactive map to explore health trends in the US at the county level. Or, view profiles that highlight performance of each US county in terms of mortality rates for select causes, life expectancy at birth, and prevalence of select risk factors.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (Dept. of Health and Human Services)
The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
National Health and Nutrition Examination (NHANES)
A program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. Coordinated by the National Center for Health Statistics of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)
Principal source of information on the health of the civilian non-institutionalized population of the United States and is one of the major data collection programs. Interviewers are from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Asia & South Pacific:Health Statistics
Created by Georgetown University Library, " this guide [can be used] for locating quantitative data and general information in global economic, political, geographic, cultural, and medical and health areas.
Demographic and Health Surveys
Produced by MEASURE DHS. Nationally representative household surveys with large sample sizes of about 5,000 households in developing countries. Provide data for a wide range of monitoring and impact evaluation indicators in the areas of population, health, and nutrition, including family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/STIs (sexually transmitted infections), and reproductive health. Survey information can be searched by country/year, by sub-region, or by content.
Disability and rehabilitation
World-wide data on disability and rehabilitation compiled by the World Health Organization (WHO).
Eurostat: Statistics on Health
Links to statistical information on public health, health & safety and health indicators among European Union (EU) nations.
Produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, this site provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
Global Health Observatory (GHO)
Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization, and elsewhere.
Health and Social Care Statistics - United Kindgom
Produced by the Office of National Statistics - United Kingdom. Site contains data on the following: Health Care System, Health of the Population, Social Care and Specialist Health Services.
Health Data - Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
Includes a collection of summaries of health-related facts and figures that characterize each country in the Americas; maps and graphs showing the magnitude and distribution patterns of selected health indicators; indicators include selected mortality rates, incidence of diseases under national surveillance, resources and health services coverage.
Health in Canada
Compiled by Statistics Canada. A comprehensive topical index to health statistics. Topics include: disability, factors influencing health, health service performance, injuries, mental health, and prevention of disease.
HIV/AIDS Surveillance Database
Compilation of information on the AIDS pandemic and on HIV seroprevalence (infection) in population groups in developing countries, from studies appearing in the medical and scientific literature, presented at international conferences, and appearing in the press. Summary tables include complete list of references to data sources. Compiled by U.S. AID.
International Programs Data
Contains statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world. Major types of data available include: Population by age and sex; Vital rates, infant mortality, and life tables. Compiled by the U.S. Bureau of the Census.
The Country Profiles provide an overview of findings from the Global Burden of Disease (GBD). They are based on over 80,000 different data sources used by researchers to produce the most scientifically rigorous estimates possible.
Nutrition Landscape Information System (NLIS)
Nutrition Landscape Information System (NLIS) is web-based tool provides nutrition and nutrition-related health and development data in the form of automated country profiles and user-defined downloadable data. Produced by the World Health Organization.
OECD Health Data
Contains data on health expenditure, health care resources, health care activities, mortality, and risk factors for OECD member nations
The State of the World's Children Reports
Prepared by the United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF). Economic and social statistics on the nations of the world, with particular reference to children's well-being. Includes tables for basic indicators, nutrition, health, education, demographic indicators, economic indicators, women, and the rate of progress.
Contains links to UNAIDS' most recent data.
World Development Indicators - Health Data
Statistical data compiled by the World Bank for over 550 development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
World Health Organization (WHO) Data and Statistics
WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation.
World Health Statistics
'The World Health Statistics series is WHO’s annual compilation of health statistics for its 194 Member States. World Health Statistics focuses on the proposed health and health-related Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and associated targets. It represents an initial effort to bring together available data on SDG health and health-related indicators. In the current absence of official goal-level indicators, summary measures of health such as (healthy) life expectancy are used to provide a general assessment of the situation."