Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SciFinder Scholar: Searching in SciFinder Scholar

 

If you haven't already registered and created a personal account in SciFinder Scholar, go back and follow these instructions.

Once you've finished registering, you can log in to SciFinder through our databases link.

Searching

 To research a topic in SciFinder, enter your concepts in plain English (for example, "the effect of antibiotic residues on dairy products") and click Search. The system will parse your concepts and offer you options (for example, ("259 references were found containing the two concepts 'antibiotic residues' and 'dairy products' closely associated with one another"). Check off the searches you want to run and click Get References.

Advanced Search options are available before you run your initial concepts search. You can also apply filters after getting your results by using the Refine panel on the left.

Refine is the center option, between Analyze and Categorize.

SciFinder indexes other material in addition to journal articles. Conference proceedings, book chapters, patents, etc. require some more effort to find. Ask for help if you need it!

Saving Searches and Citations

Once you've created and refined your search, you can create a Keep Me Posted Alert Create Keep Me Posted Alert to set up notifications when new references appear for this search. By default, you will receive emails of new results at the intervals you specify. The Preferences link at the top of the screen lets you change this setting, as well as add additional email addresses. You can access a Keep Me Posted search at any time under the Saved Searches dropdown.

Saved Searches is in the top toolbar, between Explore and SciPlanner.

To save some or all of your results, look for the Save button in the upper right. Results saved in this manner will also be stored under Saved Searches, as Saved Answer Sets.

To export citations (to add to your citation manager, for example), look for the Export button in the upper right. The default format, Citation export format (*.ris), should work for any citation management software.

Getting to Full Text

To look for full text, you must first disable pop-up blocking in your browser. Most browsers will alert you that a pop-up has been blocked and give you the chance to turn off pop-up blocking for the current domain.

"Other Sources" is SciFinder's term for checking for full text. In your results list, look for Other Sources. On a reference detail page, look for Link to Other Sources.

Either link will take you to OneSearch to check our holdings for access to the full text. If full text access is not available, you can sign in to OneSearch with your Trinity credentials and place an Interlibrary Loan request.

If you see PatentPakPatentPak instead of Other Sourcesby an item of interest in your results list, contact Jennifer van Sickle for help getting the full text.

Contact me

Profile Photo
Jennifer van Sickle
Schedule an appointment
Choose "Research Appointment" then my name from the menu
Contact:
Office: LITC A40


You may use the online scheduler or e-mail me for research assistance. We can meet in person or via Zoom. I am generally online or checking e-mail during college business hours M-F EST.
860-297-2250 or X 2250