Start Here
Request
Please submit requests using the Ticketing System (also called Course Reserves Request Form). There is no need to also fill out a purchase request -- the purchase will be fulfilled if we do not own the item! The course reserves form is a one-stop shop.
Log into the system and begin your ticket with Library --> Course Reserves & Streaming Video. This will change the form to include many more options.
Fill out the form with your desired items. The form will create a ticket that can be tracked by LITC staff. Once the form/ticket is submitted, staff will be able to start processing your requests, and you will be notified throughout the process and when the films are complete. If the films are available via one of our databases, you will receive a link to embed them to Moodle. If the film is digitized in Kaltura, we will link the film to your course for you.
You are also able to browse your ticket history, so submitting requests through the form will keep a record of the films you request!
Please use this link to reach general Course Reserves information & guidelines The left tab that says "Reserve Request Form" will also bring you to the ticketing system.
Just like course reserves, you will access the LITC Ticketing System to request digitization of library or archival materials for addition to the library's digital repository, digital archives, teaching, presentation, research, or publication.
Examples of items we have digitized include maps from periodicals, postcards and photographs from the Watkinson Library, Trinitiana (material from the college archives such as Trinity Yearbooks, Catalogs, Bulletins, Newspapers, Magazines, and more), images from books, and much more. Please visit ArtStor as well as the Digital Repository to get a sense of what we currently have ready to use in our digital collections.
To request video for your courses, visit the first tab of this box.
To link or embed video from our streaming services into Moodle,
Visit the Library Catalog and click on "Databases" under the search bar. Select "Film and Media Studies" under subjects.
Here is a quick list of where you will find videos, which you can then embed or link to Moodle:
- Films on Demand (primarily documentaries)
- Swank (primarily classic and current films)
- Kanopy (classic, Foreign, and documentary films)
Items in Kaltura will automatically be embedded into your Moodle course. Find them on the left-hand side of the course page, under "Kaltura Media Gallery."
Please utilize this blog post for assistance in embedding a film from one of our databases directly into your Moodle courses. Embedding the film will create a visible player for students to watch right in Moodle. You can also simply copy and paste the URL to the video into your course, which will lead students to the database with the film.
Policies
Preservation
Digital Preservation is not storage.
Rather, digital preservation is a series of actions that are undertaken regularly to monitor, inventory, and steward digital objects to ensure their authenticity and accessibility.
Preservation and stewardship starts long before items are stored -- workflows include metadata capture, creating digital assets with the ideal formats and sizes for archiving, and for having workflows in place for creation, transfer, or ingest. Having a place to store items for the long-term is a piece of long-term preservation, but is not the end-all. In fact, there is a term for items left in storage for the long-term without active stewardship -- benign negligence. Often, benign negligence leads to nasty surprises, such as a hard drive that will not read when it worked many times before, or digital images that have lost much of their information to bit rot. Lack of security might lead to human error, such as a coworker accidentally deleting files they think are not important, or accidentally moving items to another location, where they are now "lost."
Digital assets on legacy media have the unique challenge of being usable, but like a language, unreadable. Without the correct and necessary hardware and/or software to open and view files, even the best-kept legacy media are rendered inaccessible and useless. Examples might include laser discs, records, floppy discs, or VHS tapes.
Digital preservation is an ongoing workflow of management that begins before items come to the archive and continue long after they are ingested into it.
Preservation Levels
Due to its complexity and difficulty, true robust digital preservation is not always attainable. Rather than one set checklist, there are multiple stages to creating a digital preservation program. The National Digital Stewardship Alliance has four levels of preservation that can suit many institutions' resources and needs. At the simplest level, conducting an inventory of digital assets and creating redundant copies in multiple geographic locations is a good start. For example, having two or three copies -- one on a hard drive, one in cloud storage, and one locally so that if anything happens to one set, it can be replaced quickly. This satisfies the most basic digital preservation component, LOCKSS (lots of copies keeps stuff safe).
Equipment
Staff
Head of Digital Asset Management, Amanda Matava oversees all digital projects, platforms, and preservation of digital assets. These include materials created by her department as well as born-digital materials given to the archives either by electronic transfer or via legacy media. Amanda is tasked with the perpetual stewardship of digital materials slated for the archives and special collections.
Amanda joined Trinity in 2017. She holds an MLS in Archival Management and BA in English. She is also the Art History liaison for Trinity College.
Benny Bauer is the Digital Media Librarian. Overseeing the day-to-day operations of the Digital Imaging Studio, Benny hires and supervises student staff, equipment, digital projects and the creation of digital assets. Benny also oversees video course reserves and obsolete audiovisual format conversion.
Benny joined Trinity in 2022. She holds an MLS.
Please contact Benny at bryanna.bauer@trincoll.edu for any questions regarding course reserves or digitization.