LibGuides: Trump Tax Cuts: House

Government Records & Documents

Congress.gov Record of the Bill
The official Congressional record of the actions taken to pass the bill. There are a total of six summaries of the actions taken to pass the bill through the House and Senate. This list of actions begins November 2, 2017 - when the bill was introduced to the House.
House Debate Record (1)
This is part one of two of a House debate transcript.
House Debate Record (2)
This is part two of the House debate.
House Committee on Ways and Means Report - November 13, 2017
2017 Tax Reform for Economic Growth and American Jobs
This memo was released by the White House in 2017.
Joint Committee on Taxation Resources
This website includes the reports and analyses published by the Joint Committee on Taxation regarding various amendments included in the bill.

Congress.gov Record of the Bill Beginning November 2, 2017
The official Congressional record of the actions taken to pass the bill. There are a total of six summaries of the actions taken to pass the bill through the House and Senate. This list of actions begins November 2, 2017 - when the bill was introduced to the House.
Wall Street Journal Live Coverage of Legislation
Copy of the Legislation Introduced to the House - November 2, 2017

Macroeconomic Analysis of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act as Passed by the House of Representatives - November 20, 2017
Economists Benjamin R.Page, Joseph Rosenberg, James R. Nunns, Jeffrey Rohaly, and Daniel Berger released an analysis of the effects of the bill passed by the House on economic output, revenue and debt.

Chuck Schumer Twitter
Sen. Elizabeth Warren: GOP tax plan is giveaway to giant corporations, not middle class - November 2, 2017
The major tax cut proposed by House Republicans is “the biggest tax giveaway to giant corporations in modern memory, said Sen. Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass. Judy Woodruff gets reaction to the bill from Warren, plus the senator weighs in on revelations from a new book by Donna Brazile about the DNC, the 2016 election and whether the nominating process was rigged for Hillary Clinton.
The House Republican Tax Plan Is Fiscally Irresponsible - November 13, 2017
This article by Chuck Marr, Joel Friedman, and Chye-Ching Huang of the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities analyzes the fiscal responsibility this bill will have in the long term.
IGM Forum Polls - November 21, 2017
This article features polls answered by various economists regarding the future of GDP with the tax bill.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Nearly 1800 general and scholarly business periodicals. Includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
General and scholarly business periodicals plus information on 40,000+ public and non-public companies. Use the Topic Guide to find subject-specific material. To find geographically-related materials, search by location. From ResearchIT CT.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) This link opens in a new window
Offers tables with data about gross domestic product, personal income and outlays, corporate profits, fixed assets, income, balance of payments, investment, and annual industry accounts.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of economic literature by the American Economic Association. Covers 1969-present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's search engine for scholarly material.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Includes full runs of covered journals. NOTE: Internet Explorer is no longer supported by JSTOR. See 'More Info' re: browser troubleshooting.
Chrome may not work well with JSTOR. Be sure to use the latest version, and clearing cache/cookies 'for all time' may solve the problem.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Preliminary research sponsored by the nation's most prestigious nonprofit economics research organization. All working papers since 1994
OECD data This link opens in a new window
Find research documents and statistics published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, an international organization that supports democracy and a market economy. Offers standard international data (GDP, etc.), as well as more unique data series (biotechnology, broadband infiltration, etc.).
Offers standard international data (GDP, etc.), as well as more unique data series (biotechnology, broadband infiltration, etc.).