Thanks in large part to the Republican tax cuts, the budget deficit increased 17% over last year to $779 billion. Bruce Bartlett tells Ali Velshi Republicans want deficits because it serves their real goal: cutting government. Austan Goolsbee joins.
Economists Robert J. Barro and Jason Furman use a cost-of-capital framework to analyze the long-run steady state and transition path for GDP as a result of the 2017 tax law.
Joel Slemrod dissects the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 by providing a comprehensive history of modern taxation in the United States. Slemrod argues analyzes the attempts to truly reform the tax codes and looks at aspects of the act that deserve praises and criticisms.
This article begins with a comparison of U.S. tax cuts to other countries and the evolution of corporate tax law. Auerbach continues the discussion with the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017. He discusses the various expected increases in investment and wages, and how the law is unstable due to the ephemerality of some of the provisions. He also analyzes the cuts on a global scale due to the size of many corporations affected by the act.
ABI/INFORM Collection includes full-text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. ABI/INFORM Collection includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry. It also includes ABI/INFORM Archive, which offers a deep backfile of many business journals of the last century.
Offers graphical and tabular data about U.S. gross domestic product, personal income and outlays, corporate profits, fixed assets, income, balance of payments, investment, and annual industry data, as well as state and local numbers, and foreign trade.
EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application. Over 80% of all current records include abstracts. Also included are full-text of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993. The database also includes links to full-text of some 40,000 working papers in economics.
When on campus articles available through Trinity Library resources are indicated by an Online- Trinity College link to the right of the article title. To view these indications when off campus open Google Scholar Settings and in the Library Links page search for Trinity College. Select Trinity College – Online- Trinity College and save your selection.
Archive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Includes full runs of covered journals. NOTE: Internet Explorer is no longer supported by JSTOR. See 'More Info' re: browser troubleshooting.
Chrome may not work well with JSTOR. Be sure to use the latest version, and clearing cache/cookies 'for all time' may solve the problem.
Find research documents and statistics published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, an international organization that supports democracy and a market economy. Offers standard international data (GDP, etc.), as well as more unique data series (biotechnology, broadband infiltration, etc.).
Offers standard international data (GDP, etc.), as well as more unique data series (biotechnology, broadband infiltration, etc.).