Connecticut Resources at the Trinity Library: Newspapers

This collection provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America. With 1.8 million pages available, the collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end.

Vast news resource containing 117 Connecticut-specific resources, including regional newspapers, television news and college/university papers. Coverage varies by title, but most do not go back further than 2000.Look for the link on right of home screen for "Connecticut."

Includes thousands of titles from all 50 states chronicling the evolution of American culture and society through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and much more. The core of America’s Historical Newspapers is Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922—the most extensive resource of its kind for exploring the American past. Coverage varies by title.

Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages from around the United States from 1770-1963. It is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program in partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Freely available online-only newspaper headquartered in Hartford, Connecticut. Founded in 2009 with $1.8 million in startup funding by the nonprofit Connecticut News Project and composed of former staff from the Hartford Courant. It focuses on public policy and political issues in the state.

Principal newspaper for the state of Connecticut covering local, regional and national news. This version does not include advertising or graphics. Covers 1992 - present.

Archive of the Hartford Courant from 1764-1998.

Archive of the New York Times from 1851-2020. Contains New York Times Index and New York Times Sunday Magazine.

Nexis Uni™ features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Personalization features include Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Newspapers from the African-American community, some back to 1893. While none were published in Connecticut, Hartford, New Haven and other cities are frequently covered.