Primary Sources
The following resources contain primary sources or original evidence, produced by participants in a specific event or time period, witnesses to an event or period in history, or simply people who lived in the distant or recent past. Some examples of primary sources are letters, diaries, official government records, artifacts, contemporary newspaper articles, interviews, original photographs, memoirs and autobiographies and material objects in physical or digital form.
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new windowAccess millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowNearly 500,000 art images of art, architecture and other forms of visual and material culture. Represents all time periods and cultures. Includes online and offline tools for faculty and students. Note: Artstor is now part of JSTOR. The Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024.
- Connecticut Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowHosted by the Connecticut State Library, these collections are of archival material from Connecticut museums and historical societies. Includes the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA), Connecticut State Library's Digital Collections, Newspapers of Connecticut and Treasures of Connecticut Libraries.
- Connecticut Historical SocietyEstablished in 1825, the Connecticut Historical Society is the state’s official historical society and one of the oldest in the nation. CHS’s collection includes more than 4 million manuscripts, graphics, books, artifacts, and other historical materials accessible at our campus and on loan at other organizations.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 8,000,000 fully accessible public domain eBooks. Contains many primary source documents.
