Trump Campaign Plan
-
Trump Announces Campaign - June 16, 2015Transcript of presidential nominee Donald Trump announcing his campaign at Trump Tower in New York City; no mention of taxes.
-
Trump Unveils Tax Plan - September 28, 2015Presents first concrete tax reform plan at a news conference. This speech is considered the first full articulation of his planned tax reform.
-
A 2015 Analysis of Donald Trump's Tax Plan - December 22, 2015This is the first in a series of articles that follow the changes in Trump’s tax plan as it moves from its initial stages through the House and Senate, authored by economists Jim Nunns, Len Burman, Jeff Rohaly, and Joe Rosenberg of the Tax Policy Institute.
-
White House Hopefuls Lay Out Tax Plana comparison of all the presidential candidates tax reform plans including Trump’s, pages 40-46.
-
Trump Speaks at the Detroit Economic Club - August 8, 2016This speech was delivered to the Detroit Economic Club while Trump was on the campaign trail. Trump outlines his tax plan at minute 13 in the speech. Transcript included.
-
Trump Campaign Speech - September 13, 2016Trump gives a campaign speech in Des Moines, Iowa that includes his revised tax plan. Trump outlines his tax plan at minute 15 in the speech. Transcript included.
-
An Analysis of Donald Trump's Revised Tax Plan - October 18, 2016This article is the second in a series by economists that analyze the economic effects of Trumps tax plan as it moves through the House and Senate, authored by Jim Nunns, Len Burman, Jeff Rohaly, and Joe Rosenberg of the Tax Policy Institute.
Additional Analyses of Trump's Tax Plans
-
Details and Analysis of Donald Trump’s Tax Plan - September 29, 2015Economist Alan Cole at the Tax Foundation released an analysis of Trump's September 28, 2015 plan. Cole focuses on the effects his plan will have on the economy, revenue, and distribution.
-
Donald Trump’s Tax Plan Will Not Be Revenue-Neutral Under Any Circumstances - September 29, 2015Economist Alan Cole, Tax Foundation, evaluates Trumps statement that his tax plan will be revenue neutral.
-
Is Trump’s Tax Plan Revenue Neutral? - October 1, 2015This article by Robert Farley, factcheck.org, analyzes the plan to see if it will in fact be revenue neutral.
Newspaper Articles
-
Donald Trump Unveils Plan to Overhaul Tax Code With Broad Cuts - September 28, 2015A New York Times report of the September 28, 2015 tax plan.
Government Documents
-
2017 Tax Reform for Economic Growth and American Jobs - April 26, 2017This an outline of President Trump’s tax plan released by the White House.
-
Tax Reform Framework by The Trump Administration, the House Committee on Ways and Means, and the Senate Committee on Finance - September 27, 2017This tax reform framework provides the basis for the eventual bill and was put together by three groups: The Trump Administration, The House Committee on Ways and Means, and the Senate committee.
Analyses
-
The Implications of What We Know and Don’t Know about President Trump’s Tax Plan - July 13, 2017This article by James R. Nunns, Leonard E. Burman, Jeffrey Rohaly, Joseph Rosenberg at the Tax Policy Center analyzes specifically the White House outline released April 26, 2017.
-
What is Known About Donald Trump's Tax Plan? - June 1, 2017This short paper published by Tax Policy Center fellows James R. Nunns, Leonard E. Burman, Jeffrey Rohaly, and Joseph Rosenberg lays out what is known about the Trump Administration’s tax plan as well as preliminary suppositions about unspecified components.
Newspaper Articles
-
Trump, Taxes and the 'Middle Class Miracle' - September 27, 2017This article analyzes the September 27, 2017 "Tax Reform" framework released by the White House.
Reactions
-
Winners and Losers in the GOP Tax Plan - November 3, 2017Business analyst Jill Schlesinger joins CBS this morning to break down the tax plan before its passing.
-
Small Business Owners React to Trump's Tax Cuts - November 2, 2017Trucking Supplies Company president John Conrad and Kimmie Candy Company owner Joe Dutra discuss Trump’s tax plan can help the manufacturing sector.
-
Nobel Prize-winning Economist Paul Krugman on Tax Reform, Trump, and Bitcoin - December 15, 2017Business Insider recently caught up with Nobel Prize-winning economist and New York Times columnist Paul Krugman to talk taxes, Trump, and bitcoin. Krugman is skeptical about the effects of the Trump administration's tax plan. "Will workers see their wages increase in a way that anyone will notice over the next five years? No," he said. He expressed concern about some of the candidates for the Fed board, such as Marvin Goodfriend. The first 6 minutes discuss the tax plan and the economy.
Newspapers
-
Financial TimesUS Tax Financial Times
-
LA TimesNews from California, the nation and world
-
The NY TimesBreaking News, World News & Multimedia
-
The TimesBritish daily national newspaper
Search Engines for Scholarly Articles
-
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Collection includes full-text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
-
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) This link opens in a new windowOffers graphical and tabular data about U.S. gross domestic product, personal income and outlays, corporate profits, fixed assets, income, balance of payments, investment, and annual industry data, as well as state and local numbers, and foreign trade.
-
EconLit This link opens in a new windowEconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application. Over 80% of all current records include abstracts. Also included are full-text of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993. The database also includes links to full-text of some 40,000 working papers in economics.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's search engine for scholarly material.
When on campus articles available through Trinity Library resources are indicated by an Online- Trinity College link to the right of the article title. To view these indications when off campus open Google Scholar Settings and in the Library Links page search for Trinity College. Select Trinity College – Online- Trinity College and save your selection. -
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Also includes eBooks and book chapters.
-
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new windowPreliminary research sponsored by the nation's most prestigious nonprofit economics research organization. All working papers since 1994
-
OECD data This link opens in a new windowFind research documents and statistics published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, an international organization that supports democracy and a market economy. Offers standard international data (GDP, etc.), as well as more unique data series (biotechnology, broadband infiltration, etc.).
-
Tax Policy CenterUrban Institute & Brookings Institution