Additional sources for your research
Explore this diverse set of resources for more information and content.
-
AccessScience This link opens in a new windowA scholarly reference resource for the sciences and social sciences, including biographies, illustrations, videos and bibliographies.
-
African American Periodicals: Voices of Black Society & Culture, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new windowFeatures more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
-
Black Life in America (Series 1-3) This link opens in a new windowExperience and impact of African-Americans as recorded by the news media from 1704 to present.
-
Hispanic Life in America (Series 1-3) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. Sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals. Updated daily with new material, illuminating centuries of Hispanic history, culture, and daily life.
-
Independent Voices (Reveal Digital on JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
-
EBSCO Magazine Archives This link opens in a new window
Digital magazine archives of select popular magazines, including covers and advertisements. Titles include: The Atlantic, Fortune, Life, New Republic, National Review, Nation, People, Sports Illustrated, and Time.
-
Jet Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers art, fashion, culture, entertainment, and news, focused on the African-American community. The archives contains over 3,100 issues, published between 1951 and 2014.
-
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Titles include: Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping and Woman's Day. Coverage: 1846-2005 (varies by title).
-
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is guide to the meaning, history, and usage of 500,000 words and phrases past and present, from across the English-speaking world. In addition to present-day word meanings, the OED also provides the history of individual words, sometimes from as far back as the 11th century, and of the language—traced through 3.5 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts, song lyrics, and social media posts. Revised and updated regularly.
-
NYPL Digital CollectionsContains prints, photographs, streaming video, manuscript content from the collections of the New York Public Library
-
Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
-
Connecticut Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowHosted by the Connecticut State Library, these collections are of archival material from Connecticut museums and historical societies. Includes the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA), Connecticut State Library's Digital Collections, Newspapers of Connecticut and Treasures of Connecticut Libraries.
-
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Internet Archive is a non-profit, digital library providing access to millions of free texts, images, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Click “View More” for links to specific, recommended tools and collections.
-
Trinity College Tree MapInteractive map with number of and types of trees on Trinity's campus.
-
Environmental Justice NYC Mapping ToolFrom the mayor's "Office of Climate and Environmental Justice" this mapping tool includes data on air and health quality, waste management, parks, transit and more.
-
Hartford BoundHartford Bound recounts the history of three waves of transnational and internal migrations of African Americans, West Indians, and Puerto Ricans between the 1940s and 2020s. The maps demonstrate the historical connections between Hartford’s old colonial identity as a riverine city and its contemporary evolution of zoning, land use policies, urban planning, and residential segregation.
-
NOAA Carbon TrackerFrom the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration of the U.S. federal government, CarbonTracker is a global model of atmospheric carbon dioxide with a focus on North America, designed to keep track of CO2 uptake and release at the Earth's surface over time.
-
ICUN Red List of Threatened SpeciesEstablished in 1964, the International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List of Threatened Species has evolved to become the world’s most comprehensive information source on the global extinction risk status of animal, fungus and plant species.
These two research guides from the Trinity Library will provide more focused information on Environmental Science and Climate Change.
-
Environmental Science Research GuideAccess a wide range of sources within Environmental Science studies.
-
Climate Change Reading and Action GuideClimate change is now altering the way we live and work everyday. Droughts, wildfires, extreme temperatures, and flooding rains are now more commonplace, affecting the infrastructures that we rely on for food, transportation, housing, and more. Read on about how climate change became a problem and what you can do to be part of the solution.