Hello!
Books & encyclopedias
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference tools listed below can help with your research by providing an overview of your topic, references or bibliographies for further research, and identifying your topic's key terms, issues, and language to locate and verify information.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowScholarly and up-to-date articles on the sciences and social sciences, illustrations and graphics, and bibliographies. Search either the Encyclopedia or the Science Dictionary for best results. Try the subject-specific study guides for background on a topic.
A Consumer's Guide to Archaeological Science by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9786612973437Publication Date: 2010-09-28Comprehensive overview of the field.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsCall Number: REFERENCE QD65 .H3
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Online This link opens in a new windowWritten by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances.
Merck Index by Call Number: RS51 .M4 2013ISBN: 9781849736701Publication Date: 2013-04-30The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as Grove Art Online, Oxford Art Online offers access to and cross-searching of Oxford’s regularly updated art reference works: the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Grove Art is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, offering global coverage of visual culture, composed and expanded in collaboration with thousands of scholars and specialists around the world. Benezit offers unique information about the sale and collection of artists’ work, and it is one of the most comprehensive and definitive resources of artists’ biographies available.
More books, guides, and handbooks
These reference sources may also help you with your research.
- Dictionary of glass materials and techniques [print book]Covers techniques, materials, and equipment. Illustrated with drawings and photographs. Background information important to glass work, such as explanations of electrical and chemical terms.
- Looking at European ceramics : a guide to technical terms [print book]Definitions of terms related to the techniques, processes, and materials used in the making of ceramics in Europe from the Middle Ages through the beginning of the twentieth century. Illustrated.
- Looking at European Sculpture: a guide to technical terms [print book]This book offers definitions of the techniques, processes, and materials used in the production of postclassical European sculpture.
- Modern Methods for Analysing Archaeological and Historical Glass [eBook]."The first scientific volume to compile the modern analytical techniques for glass analysis, Modern Methods for Analysing Archaeological and Historical Glass presents an up-to-date description of the physico-chemical methods suitable for determining the composition of glass and for speciation of specific components."
- Pigment compendium : optical microscopy of historical pigments [print book]Intended for painting and art conservation, this is a guide to the visual and optical properties of historic pigments.