Hands Down...the best sources!
These two databases index a wide variety of publications across disciplines, including psychology. Each has it's own thesaurus or controlled vocabulary to assist with searching.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowFrom the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports published worldwide in the field of psychology. Also covers the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1887 - present
Collections of journals from key publishers
While these two resources are more limited in scope by searching a particular publisher, both publish a large quantity of psychology articles and you are more likely to find the full-text of articles.
-
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals collection that includes the 41 journals published by the APA (American Psychological Association) and additional journals from allied organizations. Covers 1894-present.
-
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 3,500 journals, mostly in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and social sciences.
-
Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 1,400 online journals from ca. 1997 - present.