Related Guides
About this Guide
Photo by Ryoji Iwata on Unsplash
This guide is designed to help you locate scholarly research articles, books, data & statistics, scholarly websites for your sociology research, and help with managing and citing your sources..
Best Bets for Finding Scholarly Articles
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Coverage: 1952 - current.
-
Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 1,400 online journals from ca. 1997 - present.
-
Cambridge Journals (Humanities & Social Sciences) This link opens in a new window
From Cambridge Core, Trinity's access to a collection of journals from Cambridge University Press. Current subscription is to the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection. Note: not all items are full-text.
-
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,000 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Also includes eBooks and book chapters.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation search platform for Web of Science (Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index). Coverage: 1900-present (Sciences and Social Sciences), 1975-present (Arts & Humanities)
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFocuses on the evolution of the women's movement, LGBTQIA community, and changes in gender roles over time. More broadly, resources encompass the impact of gender across disciplines and subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and more. Includes coverage from 1970.
-
Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
Three databases combined in one collection: Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and GenderWatch. Alt-PressWatch includes full-text newspapers and magazines from alternative, independent presses. Ethnic NewsWatch contains full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press and also Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, covering Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. GenderWatch publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports focused on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
-
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences with indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.