LibGuides: ECON-304 Macroeconomics Booms and Recessions (Zannoni): Tax Cut of 1964

Research the Policy

American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project (APP) is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. Their archives contain 130,906 documents and are growing rapidly.

CQ Almanac with Archives This link opens in a new window
Authoritative analysis on the major legislation and actions of Congress. Access is from 1945-present.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.

John F. Kennedy Presidential Library
The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum acquires, preserves, arranges and describes, and provides access to primary-source materials in all formats that document the life, political career, and times of John F. Kennedy.
Tax History Project
Provides scholars, policymakers, journalists, and the general public with information on the history of U.S. public finance.

What Were Contemporary Scholars Saying?

Use either JSTOR or Google Scholar to research contemporary scholarship related to Kennedy's tax policy. Limit the date range to 1961-1966. With JSTOR, limit your subject to "Economics." Don't focus on what has been written 20 to 50 years after Kennedy's policy.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's search engine for scholarly material.

When on campus articles available through Trinity Library resources are indicated by an Online- Trinity College link to the right of the article title. To view these indications when off campus open Google Scholar Settings and in the Library Links page search for Trinity College. Select Trinity College – Online- Trinity College and save your selection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Includes full runs of covered journals. NOTE: Internet Explorer is no longer supported by JSTOR. See 'More Info' re: browser troubleshooting.
Chrome may not work well with JSTOR. Be sure to use the latest version, and clearing cache/cookies 'for all time' may solve the problem.

How Did the Print Media Respond?

The best way to approach newspaper articles contemporary to pivotal moments related to Kennedy's tax policy is to identify a significant event (e.g State of the Union Address of 1963, Yale Commencement Speech of 1962, or the 1964 signing of the Revenue Act) and search one of the historic newspaper archives below, limiting your dates to the week immediately following the event.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Archive of the New York Times from 1851-2019. Contains New York Times Index.
Financial Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete run of this major U.K. newspaper from 1888-2021.
Hartford Courant Historical (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Archive of the Hartford Courant from 1764-1998.