- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowProvides a fast and easy search portal for jump-starting your research process. Whether you need to find a specific book, or a selection of articles for your paper, or explore general scholarship on a topic, Worldcat is a great place to begin. You can also use it to request books from other libraries, including CTW.
- What is WorldCat and How to Use ItWorldCat is a free-to-access worldwide library catalog that allows for resource sharing (inter-library loan). It can come in handy as your research becomes more specialized and you need resources outside of Trinity's scope.
Research Tips for Better Results
- Use an authored encyclopedia to do preliminary research to find keywords that are relevant to your topic
- Plug in 2-3 keywords at a time in the catalog and databases using boolean terms between them (AND/OR/NOT)
- Isolate specific sources by selecting subjects in the catalog or databases
- Utilize a source's bibliography or references to isolate related sources (also, "cited by" in Google Scholar)
- When you find a good source, use it to identify further keywords
- Start with a large pool and narrow down using filters
- Research is iterative and will require some trial and error.
- Do not start researching with a conclusion to prove. Start with a question to answer.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as Grove Art Online, this is a great place to begin research or assist course studies. Oxford Art Online is considered to be the most comprehensive art reference work in the world. Provides fully searchable text and thousands of image links. From prehistory to the 1990s.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts (Oxford) This link opens in a new windowOver 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture This link opens in a new windowOver 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe.
- Oxford Dictionary of Architecture (3rd ed.) This link opens in a new windowIllustrated dictionary covers every period of Western architectural history. The text is complemented by over 250 line drawings, labelled cross-sections, and diagrams.
- Oxford Dictionary of Art This link opens in a new windowGuide to the art of the Western world. It provides a careful balance of fact and critical appraisal, ranging across painting, sculpture, and the graphic arts from classical times to the present.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowComprehensive multidisciplinary collection of journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,050 titles. Coverage from 1975 or earlier in some cases.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Includes full runs of covered journals. NOTE: Internet Explorer is no longer supported by JSTOR. See 'More Info' re: browser troubleshooting.
- Project MUSE (Journals and E-Books) This link opens in a new windowFull text of all journals of the John Hopkins University Press as well as some other selected university publishers. An important academic resource for the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Coverage generally from 1990s forward. See 'More Info' about e-books
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowArt Index Retrospective (1929 -1984) provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes indexing for nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Includes full runs of covered journals. NOTE: Internet Explorer is no longer supported by JSTOR. See 'More Info' re: browser troubleshooting.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowNearly 500,000 art images of art, architecture and other forms of visual and material culture. Represents all time periods and cultures. Includes online and offline tools for faculty and students.
- Trinity Archival and Special Collections on JSTORJSTOR now hosts Trinity's digitized print, image, and multimedia archival and special collections materials. Browse the teaching collections to view our "ArtStor" images, or explore Trinity history.
- American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works (AIC)Includes archives of JAIC articles by issue, with projects.
- Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI)Much information including lists and discussion of projects, useful pdfs under "Publications > "CCI Notes."
- Getty Conservation InstitutePacked with information about the current and past activities of the Institute and with valuable research resources.
- Museum of Fine Arts, BostonNote list of Featured Conservation Projects, and “CAMEO: Conservation & Art Material Encyclopedia Online.”
Trinity Library has a selection of books on art conservation, including conservation of contemporary art. These can all be found in the library book catalog by entering search term "art conservation" and selecting "subject browse." This produces a list of subject terms related to the topic, including "Art -- Conservation and restoration" with 18 titles, and "Art Conservation and restoration Periodicals" also with 18 titles. Simply click on a topic of your choosing to go to a list of the titles we own in print and electronic formats.
Also, art exhibition catalogs and other books about artists often include sections on conservation of their works. Wadsworth Atheneum, for example, has published exhibition catalogs with discussion of artist techniques and conservation of certain works. Among them are catalogs authored by Ulrich Birkmaier or Stephen Kornhauser, conservators at the Atheneum who have contributed essays on conservation, such as to the exhibition catalog for a Marsden Harley exhibition at the Atheneum.
JSTOR has the following conservation-focused journals:
- Journal of Field Archaeology
- Studies in Conservation
- Art NewsMuseum news and links
- Arts JournalArt news and links.
- Art DailyArt news - museums, galleries and more.
- Nexis UNI This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
from LexisNexis®, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790, with an interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
annotated documents. - New York Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowOffers full-page and article images of every page, covering 1851-4 years ago. Content is added every year.
- Proquest Recent Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowIncludes the current content of the Chicago Tribune, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
- College Art AssociationWeb site of the professional organization with useful links to publications and more.
- Getty Research InstituteMajor research institute dedicated to furthering knowledge & advancing understanding of the visual arts. Includes links to scholarly resources, tools & databases, collections.
- Society of Architectural HistoriansUseful information and links for the profession.
Trinity uses EZProxy and Shibboleth to authenticate users by IP address. You should always see the above message when navigating Trinity databases and not be prompted to login. If you aren't able to access a database or are stuck at a login screen, try accessing through the Library website or contact a librarian.
JSTOR and ArtStor allow you to create free accounts in order to save and organize materials for research. However, this is separate from the automatic Trinity authentication.
Using the Library Catalog
OneSearch
Search Trinity's catalog and beyond.
Ensure that you are logged in as soon as you are in OneSearch to see all available options for print and digital materials, to submit requests, and to save and favorite items.
Use the filters on the left side to narrow down. Or, use "advanced search" to add keywords and narrow results.
View print and digital resources in one search result
OneSearch indexes books, articles, and more from many places including the Watkinson, Trinity Library stacks, digital databases like JSTOR, and digital repositories. Items with a call number can be physically located on the shelf. Digital resources say 'available online' and include a link in the record. Some items will include information like 'peer-reviewed.'
Call number and basic metadata from a search
Save query
When you are signed in to your Trinity account, you can save queries -- in essence, this will save your search results so you don't have to recreate the search from scratch. To find your saved or favorited items, navigate to the pin icon at the top of the screen.
View details and virtual browse
Catalog records contain metadata (data about data) about each item including contents, author, date, etc. Items in the Trinity Library stacks are cataloged by Library of Congress classification. This means that similar subjects will be found together. Use the 'virtual browse' in the catalog record to view what similar items might be on the shelf. Or physically walk to the shelf and look around the book you like to see if there's anything relevant nearby.
To find a book on the shelf, make note of the call number and navigate to "building maps."
Here you will find which floor and where on the floor to find your book. Note that quarto and folio sized books may be in varied locations and don't necessarily match the letter of regular books.
For items we don't own, view the catalog record to request from another library.
If you select "Interlibrary Loan," you will be brought to the ILLiad login page. You will use your regular Trinity credentials (make sure your password is current!). The ILLiad request will auto-populate with the item's metadata. Enter any further information, then submit your request.
Items for pickup will be available at the circulation desk on Level A.