LibGuides: Writing and Rhetoric: Formatting and Citations

Writing Guides

The Elements of Style by William Strunk
Elementary rules of usage -- Elementary principles of composition -- A few matters of form -- Words and expressions commonly misused -- An approach to style.
They Say / I Say by Gerald Graff
The best-selling new composition book published in this century, in use at more than 1,000 schools, They Say / I Say has essentially defined academic writing, identifying its key rhetorical moves, the most important of which is to summarize what others have said to set up one's own argument.
Writing Research Papers by James D. Lester
The definitive research paper guide,Writing Research Papers combines a traditional and practical approach to the research process.

Citation, Format, and Style Guides

Citations are used to show the works and ideas that guided and influenced your writing. By providing citations for your sources you grant legitimacy to your argument and provide due credit to the source creators. For more information regarding the importance of intellectual property laws, laws surrounding the use of others' work and ideas, please view the Intellectual Property section of this guide.

Always check with your professor to see what format and citation style they prefer.

LibGuides

This guide includes examples of commonly used citation styles including Chicago, MLA, APA, ACS, APSA, and ASA.

Databases

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Complete content of the 17th editions (2017). Also includes 16th edition (2010).

Books

The AMA Handbook of Business Writing The Ultimate Guide to Style, Grammar, Punctuation, Usage, Construction, and Formatting
This guide takes the guesswork out of more than 50 commonly used business documents, including: reports, proposals, business plans, presentations, press releases, memos, email, newsletters, collection letters, sales materials, and more. Arranged alphabetically and cross referenced for easier use, the book presents examples of how to (and how not to) create winning materials every time.
Concise Rules of APA Style
This text offers writing and formatting standards for students, teachers, researchers, and clinicians working in the field of psychology. It provides complete guidance on the rules of style that are critical for clear communication.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Reorganized and revised, the third edition of the MLA Style Manual offers complete, up-to-date guidance on writing scholarly texts, documenting research sources, submitting manuscripts to publishers, and dealing with legal issues surrounding publication.
Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers. 2nd Edition
Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.