Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The GPO (Government Printing Office) publishes the following Congressional Documents:
- Committee Hearings - transcripts of witness testimony; can also include supporting documentation
- Committee Reports - text of proposed legislation and the Committee's recommendations.
- Committee Prints - background material on proposed legislation prepared by the Lib. of Cong. at the request of the Committee.
- Congressional Debates - transcripts of House and Senate debates on proposed legislation. Published in the Congressional Record.
- Calendars - public announcement of a debate
- House and Senate Documents - reports submitted to Congress by the Executive Departments, Bureaus or Agencies.
- Senate Executive Documents - official record of Treaties approved by the Senate.
Use the databases in the next box to locate copies of these documents. Please note the limitation on the coverage and content.
Bills and Public Acts can also be found in these databases. The US Code has its own website.
The databases below are a mix of commercial and government vendors. Commercial databases can only be accessed by members of the Trinity community.
CQ Press Library
CQ Press Library - the place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences.
Indexes Congressional Reports and the Congressional Record (which includes roll call votes). Tracks legislation from the introduction through committee referral and back to the House or Senate for debate.
Code of Federal Regulations Annual Edition
The is an online version of the CFR; however, note, the limitation on the opening screen. The official edition is still the printed document.
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Elections and Voting
Project Vote Smart This link opens in a new window
A non-partisan organization which collects and publishes information on national and state candidates and elected officials. Biographic information, interest group ratings, voting records, and public statements are included in each candidate's profile.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
All reports and documents published by the U.S. Congress. 1817-1994
American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
Includes most of the surviving executive and legislative documents from the Federal era of American history. A primary resource. Covers historical period 1789-1838
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation This link opens in a new window
U.S. Congressional documents and debates from 1774-1873. Includes the Annals of Congress and the Register of Debates.