Presidential Documents
Below is a list, with a brief description, of the major documents issued by the President's Office.
Executive Orders - commands issued by the President which direct the order of business in the executive departments.
Presidential Proclamations - often announcing celebratory occasions (Pan American Day and Pan American Week), but sometimes directing legal action (such as pardons). Proclamations are published in the Federal Register.
United States Budget - The official budget of the United States government, issued by the Office of Management and Budget
Federal Register - The daily newspaper of the United States Government
Databases
The databases below contain the recent (coverage varies - see notes) Presidential Documents.
-
Nexis UNI This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Personalization features include Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Historical Documents Online
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowAn online resource for demographic data on the United States. Information can be generated in either reports or maps. Coverage begins with the 1790 Census and continues through the recent American Community Surveys. Create an individual account (required) in order to use all the database features.
-
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new windowReports, documents, journals, and maps published by the United States Congress, covering public policy, infrastructure, the land, the people, military and defense, and more. Coverage from beginning of the15th Congress (March 1817) to end of the 103rd Congress (December 1994).
Websites
-
American Presidency Project This link opens in a new windowPublished collections of presidential sources, such as speeches, executive orders, appearances, statistical data and mapping etc. Except for recent presidents, these collections omitted many documents such as proclamations, vetoes and orders. Prior to 1945, the number of documents in the collection in any specific category may be smaller than the total in existence.
-
National ArchivesThe repository of all official documents and communication, published and unpublished.