Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Web Sites
These resources are freely available on the web.
U.S. military standards and handbooks
Canadian Patents Database
Search and access 151 years of patent descriptions and images. You can search, retrieve and study more than 2,420,000 patent documents.
European Patent Office
Searchable database of European patents from 1836-present.
Search engine for freely available patents from around the world.
Limits Google searches to scholarly literature. This is a good place to search for citations to older, non-English language, and hard to find publications.
IEEE Editorial Style Manual
Provides general editing guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters.
IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society is the world's largest international society of biomedical engineers.
Searchable gateway to STEM websites from U.S. Government agencies.
The NIST Standards Coordination Office provides tools, programs, services, and educational resources about documentary standards and conformity assessment.
U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
Full-text searchable database of patents from 1976-present.
'Computational knowledge engine' with the goal to make all systematic knowledge immediately computable and accessible to everyone.
Federated search interface to national and international science portals for searching world science literature. Modeled after Science.gov, it was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy and the British Library in conjunction with other international organizations. 1930-present