LibGuides: Chemistry: Articles

Best Bets--Article Databases

Search these databases for scholarly and popular articles in chemistry. Please also see this detailed guide to Scifinder-n from MIT.

ACS Publications & Archive This link opens in a new window
Current and archival collection of American Chemical Society journals.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
New interface for SciFinder with an updated interface and search algorithm. SFn is mobile-friendly, offers more filter options, and includes an “All Search” function similar to Google. New users must first create an individual account using a valid Trinity e-mail, by clicking here.
NOTE: May work best with Chrome.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation search platform for Web of Science (Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index). Coverage: 1900-present (Sciences and Social Sciences), 1975-present (Arts & Humanities)

More Useful Databases

Try these for either more specialized topics OR for popular/general interest articles.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
From ResearchIT CT
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in more than 45 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature, identifying the principal contributions in a given field.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Includes full runs of covered journals. NOTE: Internet Explorer is no longer supported by JSTOR. See 'More Info' re: browser troubleshooting.
Chrome may not work well with JSTOR. Be sure to use the latest version, and clearing cache/cookies 'for all time' may solve the problem.
New York Times (website site license) This link opens in a new window
Trinity College's site license to the New York Times (nytimes.com). Note: Individual registration is required. Log in with your institutional credentials. Create a NYTimes.com account using your institutional email – or use your pre-existing profile. Faculty and staff must re-register every four years. Students have access until graduation.
**Once an account is created, access the New York Times via https://www.nytimes.com/ rather than this link**
PubMed This link opens in a new window
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 3,500 journals, mostly in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and social sciences.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
The Library subscribes to a current collection of Springer e-journals. We also own the Springer journal archive, Springer e-books current + archive (English), and Palgrave e-books current + archive. For e-books, you may purchase your own softcover version for $39.99 via the 'MyCopy' link on the book landing page.