Chemistry

News blog from ACS.

Open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes.

From Wikibooks, this is a comprehensive overview of chemistry research and scholarship.

Open source collection of textbooks and other open educational resources (OER)

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of Internet data sources.

Searchable database of European patents from 1836-present.

Overview comparing features of SciFinder and SciFinder-n.

From the Chemistry department at UVA, 10 tips for better presentations.

Describes how sodium cations and chloride anions are arranged in the rock salt lattice structure. It also shows how changing the cation to cesium affects the structure of the lattice.

Freely available reference resource in chemistry.

From the University of Rochester, this is a searchable site for synthetic organic laboratory techniques and information.

Helpful suggestions on giving an excellent presentation.

Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. Three linked databases are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage.

Well-known vendor catalog. Contains lots of chemical information, as well as links to resources such as MSDS.

Full-text searchable database of patents from 1976-present.

Searchable database of food composition & nutrition information.

Information about the history, structure, and properties of the elements

'Computational knowledge engine' with the goal to make all systematic knowledge immediately computable and accessible to everyone.