LibGuides: Educational Studies: Journal Articles

Journal Databases for Education Studies

ERIC is the principal database for journal literature in Educational Studies. ERIC also indexes government and research institution reports and some books.

ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to education literature and research. The database also contains information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

Multidisciplinary Databases

The four databases below are multi-disciplinary. Searching a general database can be an effective strategy when your topic is cross disciplinary.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's search engine for scholarly material.

When on campus articles available through Trinity Library resources are indicated by an Online- Trinity College link to the right of the article title. To view these indications when off campus open Google Scholar Settings and in the Library Links page search for Trinity College. Select Trinity College – Online- Trinity College and save your selection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of past issues of scholarly journals from all areas of study. Includes full runs of covered journals, excluding content from the past 2-5 years. Includes full runs of covered journals. NOTE: Internet Explorer is no longer supported by JSTOR. See 'More Info' re: browser troubleshooting.
Chrome may not work well with JSTOR. Be sure to use the latest version, and clearing cache/cookies 'for all time' may solve the problem.
Project MUSE (Journals and E-Books) This link opens in a new window
Full text of all journals of the John Hopkins University Press as well as some other selected university publishers. An important academic resource for the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Coverage generally from 1990s forward. Trinity also has full-text access to select eBooks from Project MUSE.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,000 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

Journal Databases for Related Disciplines

Psychology and Sociology are related disciplines. Research in school culture might appear in a sociological journal, while adolescent behavior is an obvious topic for a psychology journal.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports published worldwide in the field of psychology. Also covers the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1887 - present
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Coverage: 1952 - current.